(prepared for a Tuesday Morning Staff Meeting)

Ecclesiastes 1:1-2

“The words of the Teacher, son of David, king in Jerusalem:

2 ‘Meaningless! Meaningless!’
says the Teacher.
‘Utterly meaningless!
Everything is meaningless.’”

What a great way to start off the morning and an awesome start to our week, right? Everything is meaningless. And this has absolutely nothing to do with the rest of what I’m saying this morning.

Ecclesiastes is my favorite book because it puts everything into perspective. It reminds me why I’m doing what I’m doing and why I feel like I should be doing it in the first place.

A sober reminder like my alarm clock was this morning.
I don’t know about you, but I’m not a morning person.
I like sleeping in.
I hate my alarm clock.
Which was my mom this morning…

When I set my alarm, I doom myself to the fate of waking to an alarm, for what reason? Because there is something I need to do, and without a sober reminder I would sleep right on through it.

Often I get up and my first thoughts aren’t about what I have to do, I honestly don’t even remember why I set the alarm in the first place until after my morning routine.

This makes it ever more important for us to set our alarms right now so we’re prepared for what’s to come. We have to be intentional. Just to be clear, I’m not talking about the type that wakes us up in the morning.
So what are we setting our alarms for?

Skip to chapter 3:1-5

“There is a time for everything,
and a season for every activity under the heavens:

2     a time to be born and a time to die,
a time to plant and a time to uproot,
3     a time to kill and a time to heal,
a time to tear down and a time to build,
4     a time to weep and a time to laugh,
a time to mourn and a time to dance,

The list goes on…

This begs the question, what are we prepared for?

Perhaps more importantly, what are we unprepared for?

The cold reality is that we don’t always see things coming, and when the storms of life hit or things go unexpectedly crazy we have to be ready. Not just as people, not just as staff at a church, but as men and women on the front lines of a very real war against a very real enemy and as what may be the one thing that collides with a person’s trajectory to hell and points them to Jesus.

As my friend Paul said Sunday, Jesus prayed that we would be sent into the world to redeem it. (John 17:13-18) What idiot goes on a mission unprepared? We need to set our alarms to prepare for whatever may come our way.

Pray that when the time comes that your preparation is fruitful and rises up within you and everything is automatic, much like my morning routine, so we can praise God for the work He is doing through us in the midst of the world when we remember what was sown into us beforehand.

We just read in Ecclesiastes that there is a time for everything right? Well, let me leave you with this thought…

Ester 4:14, you know the story…
“14 For if you remain silent at this time, relief and deliverance for the Jews will arise from another place, but you and your father’s family will perish. And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?” (Jeremiah 29:11-13, God knows what plans he has for us. Romans 8:22-30, we are called according to His purpose.)

The time for us is now, our time is ticking.

Leave a Reply

