Heart of a Lion

Posted: June 23, 2013 in Other Poetry, Poetry, Spiritual Poetry
Tags: , , , , , ,

I sit, people watching
Lounging about, writing
Poetry or language of my soul
A priority, this never gets old
Taking time for myself and God
Is a necessity before my day is gone
I have a lot of junk on my mind
And the only way to sort it is this time
I’ve intentionally set aside
Even if all I do is write rhymes
It frees me, my troubles it binds
No distractions, just passer-bys
It reminds me of the person behind my eyes
Who I truly am apart from the daily grind
Before my lenses wander the world they find
Before my filter hears a word, I realize
That I determine beforehand my replies
I won’t follow the wicked allure of many crimes
When it comes to the crossroads in my life
That’s when I’m thankful I took hold of what’s mine
I know me. I know the person behind these lines
He is no cub, I am bearing the heart of a lion.

Comments
  1. Aia says:

    Hello There. I discovered your blog using msn. That is an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly return.

Leave a Reply

