A Smile for my Dad. :)

Posted: June 17, 2013 in Holiday Poetry, Poetry, Relationship Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I know a poem isn’t exactly what you want
But it’s what I’ve got to give you
I know you’d much prefer something you could flaunt
Like, “check my grill, my tv, my ride” true?

And as much as I’d like to give you that sort of thing
You won’t get something so cheap from me
As all these things pass away my words will continue to ring
And I’m sure this is worth more than they ever would be

You’re my dad, and that’s always the truth
Good, Bad, and the Ugly that I share too (*coughyourfault* #blamedadnotgenetics)
Always, through and through
So I wanna say I appreciate you.

I know I’m not the greatest son in the world
Though you’ll always tell me different (because I really am. 😉 jk)
And you’re not a perfect father figure
But somehow I’m sure we can work past this.

You taught me so many key things even with distance
Work ethic, what not to do, and skipping stones
Even when my world is going 200 mph, I won’t forget this,
You’ve instilled things deep into my core, my bones.

Even though I’m taking shots at you in fun
I really respect what you’ve always done for me since day one
You’re my dad, and I’m proud to be your son.
Happy Father’s day. Have a good smile this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

