Eyes Glued to the Street

Posted: June 9, 2013 in Poetry, Spiritual Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Streets walked
By busy little bots
Robot humanity
Life on automatic
Eyes to pavement, glued
Following lines and grooves
“Choices and decisions”
Following nature’s rhythms
Only one way against the flow
Though there’s countless ways it goes
Return is my life ’til death calling
Like a salmon, upstream I’m going
I won’t follow the zombie masses
Converting and consuming every life it passes
My heart finally started beating again
And I see clearly the world I live in
I won’t follow my zombie cravings anymore
This flesh is not the best master to live for
I’m done with this selfish robot program
Want more, get more? Meaningless, man!
You don’t get it, because it’s easy
Following a current can be plenty pleasing
But I’m after more than my passing pleasure
This world will never fully satisfy my desire
I met someone that changed my fate
So I walk the path no one dares take
This world can never take enough from me
To rid me of my addiction to things they don’t see
Some will insist it’s pure insanity
But they don’t want to face the reality
That life is more than following your dream
They still want to play pretend they’re asleep
When it’s all or nothing and we’re playing for keeps
I refuse to walk with my eyes glued to the street.

Leave a Reply

