The Proposal

Posted: May 11, 2013 in Love Poetry, Poetry, Relationship Poetry

Girl, I say
We stop thinking of our separate ways
Put our hearts together, link up right away
Pull a Burger King, have it our way
Isn’t anytime better than the present, today
I’m down on one knee let me call you my fiance
I’ll make you my Valentine, like everyday
I know you’re searching for words and don’t know what to say
But hold that thought and let me finish what I have to say
I’m nervous and the words are getting blurry on the page
But you’re the one I want next to me someday
The lines and rhymes stop, tears get in the way…
(Will you marry me?)
… And that’s how I proposed to your mother that day.

Leave a Reply

