A Kiss Under Moonlight

Posted: August 18, 2012 in Love Songs, Music/Lyrics

The flutterbys have flown away
They were never really here to stay
But that was something I always knew
I think it’s fine as long as I’m with you
Even after the spark is gone
Love continues, it goes on and on
But with all these things I cannot change
My heart still wishes that they’d stay the same
As they used to be…

A kiss under moonlight, holding hands beneath the stars
Through the pain and the hard times, this love remains ours
I wish I could see you, but the distance is to far
And here comes those ol’ tears, and my heart cries my scars

“No matter what” becomes words on a page
Of history remembered as “back in those days”
Mistakes return regrets from teenage lustful years
Hard lessons learned the hard way and things we didn’t wanna hear
All the promises we’ve broken and tears shed from our eyes
Heart-breaking backstabbing choices and uncaring unthoughtful lies
No expenses spared for the shameful truth
But I figured it’d be fine as long as I’m here with you

A kiss under moonlight, holding hands beneath the stars
Through the pain and the hard times, this love remains ours
I wish I could see you, but the distance is too far
And here comes those ol’ tears, and my heart cries my scars

I want you to know that this isn’t goodbye
I’m not giving up on us for silly flutterbys
It’d take so much more to break our chains
And I still plan on someday changing your name

A kiss under moonlight, holding hands beneath the stars
Through the pain and the hard times, this love remains ours
I wish I could see you, but the distance is too far
And here comes those ol’ tears, and my heart cries my scars

A kiss under moonlight, holding hands beneath the stars
Through the pain and the hard times, this love remains ours
The next time I’ll see you the distance will disappear
And letting go of those old fears, your heart catches my tears.

Leave a Reply

